"As I mused, the fire burned"

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

Just Like Me?

leave a comment »

The other day, I met a man,
Who looked just like me.
Same hair, eyes and skin…
Ah, except he had a goatee.

I looked at him again,
With a careful eye.
We could have been twins,
He and I.

I questioned his mind,
Beginning with philosophy,
His thoughts on economics,
The Pope and theology.

We were of one mind
On matters divers.
His wife looked like mine,
Our cars, both by hearse.

The more we spoke
It became quite clear
Two birds of a feather
Had gathered here.

As alike we were
In every way
I could not stop staring
At that beard, plain as day.

My mind flitted back,
To images gone past.
Did not art render the bad,
With a beard just like that?

Revulsion grew,
With each passing breath.
This man was not like me,
He was as bad as the rest!

And so, I took leave,
Without a look back.
For that small goatee,
There was no way around that.

My search will continue,
In a world without end.
To find someone just like me,
So I can be comfortable again.

Written by sameo416

March 19, 2010 at 2:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Urbane Adventurer: Amiskwacî

thoughts of an urban Métis scholar (and sometimes a Mouthy Michif, PhD)

Joshua 1:9

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

Engineering Ethics Blog

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

asimplefellow

Today, the Future and the Past all kinda rolled up in one.

istormnews

For Those Courageous in Standing for Truth

âpihtawikosisân

Law, language, life: A Plains Cree speaking Métis woman in Montreal

Malcolm Guite

Blog for poet and singer-songwriter Malcolm Guite

"As I mused, the fire burned"

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

