"As I mused, the fire burned"

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

98th Ave and 85th Street – Traffic Circle of Death

leave a comment »

Copied from the Alberta Government website (where they have pictures).  I’m dedicating this post to the driver of a gold metallic sedan, license SVA-062, that just about caused a collision this morning (22 January 2013 at about 0740) at the 98th Avenue and 85th Street traffic circle.  This was the chap who cut in front of me, and then swore at me for honking at him.  I missed clipping your back bumper by about 9 inches.  Just to make it clear, I underlined the provision that applies to you (that’s why there’s a yield sign at the entrance to a traffic circle…it means you have to YIELD to the oncoming traffic…it means I had the right of way). 

I was coming around the circle in the right hand lane – that means I yield to cars in the left hand or inner lane.  As I travel around the circle, I leave my left turn signal on signaling to all the waiting traffic that I am not yet prepared to exit. 

When I approach my exit, I put my right turn signal on to signal my intention to leave the circle.  Right hand lane yields to the left, and has right of way over all traffic entering the traffic circle.

Now, note the language about those who are passing more than one exit, “Drivers planning to travel past the first exit should use the left lane to enter and exit”.  That’s a ‘should’ – it is the preferred method.  If it was mandatory, the word would be ‘shall’.  I was in the right lane, passing more than one exit because I could not enter the left lane because of traffic volume…which is permitted.  In any event, traffic coming into a traffic circle is required to yield to all oncoming traffic.

I have no idea what this guy was thinking, but it supports my conclusion that we should do away with traffic circles in Edmonton.  I have at least two near-misses per week through the two traffic circles I drive through twice per work day. 

ENTERING CIRCULAR INTERSECTIONS:

Drivers entering the circular intersection must yield to drivers already in the circle. Once in the circle, drivers must activate the right signal when preparing to exit.

USING THE RIGHT LANE TO ENTER AND EXIT: Drivers entering the circle from the right lane must do so when it is safe and stay in the right lane while in the circle. They must exit using the right lane.

USING THE LEFT LANE TO ENTER AND EXIT: Drivers using the left lane to enter the circle must do so when it is safe and stay in the left lane while in the circle/roundabout.  They must exit using the left lane. Drivers planning to travel past the first exit should use the left lane to enter and exit.

IN CIRCULAR INTERSECTIONS: While in the circle, the driver on the right must yield to the driver on the left. Activate the right signal when preparing to exit. Use caution when exiting and crossing through the right (outside) lane. Do not change lanes in the circle. Traffic in the red lanes (white arrows) must yield to traffic in the yellow lanes (black arrows). Traffic entering the circle (grey lanes) must yield to traffic in the circle (both red and yellow lanes).  

Written by sameo416

January 22, 2013 at 9:40 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Urbane Adventurer: Amiskwacî

thoughts of an urban Métis scholar (and sometimes a Mouthy Michif, PhD)

Joshua 1:9

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

Engineering Ethics Blog

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

asimplefellow

Today, the Future and the Past all kinda rolled up in one.

istormnews

For Those Courageous in Standing for Truth

âpihtawikosisân

Law, language, life: A Plains Cree speaking Métis woman in Montreal

Malcolm Guite

Blog for poet and singer-songwriter Malcolm Guite

"As I mused, the fire burned"

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

