"As I mused, the fire burned"

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

A Remembrance Reflection

leave a comment »

A quick personal reflection on remembrance…now I just have to write the sermon.

Remembrance Reflection
Major (ret’d) the Rev, St John the Evangelist Edmonton, (served 20 years as an aerospace engineer in Canada’s fighter force)

In the middle of the night, “0-dark-30”, the howl of the base recall siren wakes me in time to answer my ringing cell phone. Crawling from my warm bed and kissing my wife and daughter, I don a uniform and head to the flight line to answer the call. My life in uniform, one of constant readiness for a leap into the unknown.  When the sun rises, where will I be?

It’s a life not so different from that of the Christian, always preparing, never certain when the call will come, and ready for the master to arrive in the dark of night.

As I reflect on lost colleagues and those who continue to bear the burden of service, I remember my call as a Christian to be on watch, to be ready, and to never forget – that sometimes those who stand on guard must give their all, so that others may know peace. “When you go home, tell them of us” is also the call of Christ.

Written by sameo416

October 6, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Urbane Adventurer: Amiskwacî

thoughts of an urban Métis scholar (and sometimes a Mouthy Michif, PhD)

Joshua 1:9

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

Engineering Ethics Blog

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

asimplefellow

Today, the Future and the Past all kinda rolled up in one.

istormnews

For Those Courageous in Standing for Truth

âpihtawikosisân

Law, language, life: A Plains Cree speaking Métis woman in Montreal

Malcolm Guite

Blog for poet and singer-songwriter Malcolm Guite

"As I mused, the fire burned"

Reflection on life as a person of faith.

